Home > Ice Hockey special > Olympic games hockey: Sweden and USA to play final, play-off preview

Olympic games hockey: Sweden and USA to play final, play-off preview

So, the recreational hockey tournament is over and it is now do or die phase, with no mistakes available. And I would like to share my thoughts on play off structure and possible chances to progress to the next phase. My prediction of the final you already saw in the title, I don’t pretend thats gonna happen in real life, but that’s the way I see this teams.  I will start the overall analysis of the teams who are considered by bookies and by me also as a main contenders to take gold medals. I will surprise you and will start with the team that I think has fewer chances to get gold, despite being favorites in bookies opinion.

Canada.

Odds @ Betfair: 3.10

Canada got themselves into troubles, losing to USA. Now to take gold medals they have to win almost all the favorites of this tournament, both Russia and Sweden are on they way to the final. They have great team with great individuals, but I can’t quite see a team from this stars. They looked too confident in the match against USA and they paid the prise for that. Now they are at risk of not getting even a medal at home Olympics – thats gonna be an absolute disaster for them and I guess they are completely confident that they gonna progress in the match against Red Machine… Ovi, Malkin and Datsyuk will prove them wrong! Russia possess game to defeat Canada team – coach Bykov showed how canadians should be beaten twice already and both time in the World Championship finals. And he has a great TEAM to do it.

Russia.

Odds @ Betfair: 4.60

First thought after Canada – USA result was – How unlucky can Russia just be at this Olympics, even in hockey! But then, taking a closer look at the Canadian team and comparing it to Russian squad, I found factors that give advantage to the russians in the quarter final match. First of all its psychological confidence after defeating Canadians twice, both times in the finals and one of them at the home ground, at the World Championship 2008. Nobody will criticize Russians if they will lose to the Canada, but imagine what kind of pressure is on Canada team! The hole nation expects them to get at least a medal and now they are at risk of not getting it. Russia is the worst opponent for them at this tournament and if they will get over all those factors against them, I think they will take gold at this Olympics. But I think Russia will make a treble in the wins over Canada…

USA

Odds @ Betfair: 5.30

For some USA is a surprise team, but for me not. I was considering them as real danger before the start of the tournament and they proved me right. They are playing attractive, fast hockey and they seemed to be enjoying the process. They have also very important advantage – their level of pressure of getting result can’t be compared with the Canadians and even Russians, nobody will criticize them for losing even against Switzerland. They are young, they are self-confident and they will be in the final. Both Czechs and Finns aren’t a hurdle not to get over it.

Sweden.

Odds @ Betfair: 6.4

Despite being the highest odds favorite, combining all the factors for and against them, I will put them as favorites for the title. Thats the only team that with 100% confidence can say that they look unite as a team, despite having plenty of great individuals. Brothers Sedin (Vancouver Canucks), experienced Alfredson (Ottawa Senators) and Forsberg, new names like Backstrom (Washington Capitals) and Erikson (Dallas Stars), they look impressive combined together as a team. Slovakia isn’t a hurdle for them and according to my predictions, their semi-final opponent Russia, Sweden always have been inconvenient opponents for the Russians, especially when playing after big wins over favorites.

I don’t pretend that my opinion is true one, thats just my thoughts. Many people won’t agree with me, but there any opinion has its right to exist.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment